Where did the archived discussions in Google Groups come from?

[94] The archive of posts from March 1995 onward was started by the company DejaNewsDejaNewsThe Deja News Research Service was an archive of messages posted to Usenet discussion groups, started in March 1995 by Steve Madere in Austin, Texas. Its powerful search engine capabilities won the service acclaim, generated controversy, and significantly changed the perceived nature of online discussion.

What happened to Google Groups?

In September 2020, Google made new Groups the default experience for all users, but they gave users the option to use classic Groups instead of the new interface. According to Google, starting on November 16, 2020, classic Groups will be turned off for everyone.

What is Google Group conversation history?

Turn on conversation history so that members can view posts in Google Groups anytime. Group owners and managers can turn the feature on or off for each of their groups. On—Members who choose to get email updates can read and respond to posts using Google Groups online, email, or both.

Can you archive conversations in Google Groups?

Steps to turn archiving on or off
Find the name of the group you want to edit and click Manage. Content control. To turn archiving on, check the Archive messages to the group box. To turn it off, uncheck the box.

Who are Google Groups?

Google Groups is a service from Google that provides discussion groups for people sharing common interests. The Groups service also provides a gateway to Usenet newsgroups via a shared user interface.

Why are my emails going to conversation history?

Usually, the emails will never go to the Conversation History folder only when an Inbox Rule is setup to move the emails to that folder. To double confirm it, please sign in Outlook Web App(OWA) and go to Settings -> View all Outlook Settings -> Mail -> Rules. Capture a screenshot of the entire interface.

When you add someone to Google Chat can they see previous messages?

Add and change members
When a new member is added to a conversation, all members will see a message posted in the chat announcing the new member. It is important to note that the new member will be able to see the entire conversation history upon joining, even messages sent before they were invited.

What happens when you archive a Google Chat?

Google Hangouts Archive vs. Delete. Archiving a conversation in Hangouts means that you’ll be able to close the conversation while also being able to access it at a later date.

What is Google archive?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it. When you mute a message: Any replies stay out of your inbox.

Why do I get archive instead of delete?

Google archiving removes messages from your Inbox, but keeps them in your account so that you can always find them later. This is like moving messages into a filing cabinet for safekeeping, rather than putting them in the trash can.

What is the point of Google Groups?

Google Groups allow you to communicate with colleagues, by sharing a common email address. Once a group has been created, you can use the group to set up chat rooms, invite all users to a Google Meet and share documents for collaboration.

Are Google Groups Safe?

Misconfigurations in Google Groups can lead to unintended internal, external, and public exposure. Our research uncovered the exposure of confidential, internal, and sensitive data across hundreds of organizations through Google Groups.

Who can view conversations Google Groups?

View or change permissions for sets of users

  • Sign in to Google Groups.
  • Click the name of a group.
  • On the left, click Group settings.
  • To locate permission settings, look for entries with a slider:
  • Choose which users get that permission. For: …
  • Repeat step 6 for each permission.
  • Click Save changes.

What are archived conversations?

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox.

When you archive a chat does the other person know?

It also doesn’t have any effect on your online status – all archived chats will still show if you’re online. Nevertheless, it’s two-way secrecy: there’s also no way to know if someone else archived your chat.

How do I see Google Chat history?

Turn history on or off

  1. Open the Chat app or Gmail app .
  2. Select a chat conversation.
  3. At the top, next to the contact or conversation name, tap the Right arrow .
  4. In “Conversation Options,” next to “History,” tap On or Off.

How do I retrieve deleted Google Chat history?

Download and launch DroidKit > Go to Extract Needed Data and click From Google Account.

  1. Choose Extract from Google Account.
  2. Choose the Data to View.
  3. Confirm the Google Backup you Need to Restore.
  4. Select Messages from Google Backup to Recover.
  5. Click on the More Option.
  6. Click on the Chats Option.

Does Google Chat save conversations?

When you message a person or group in Google Chat, you can choose to save your conversation or have it automatically deleted after 24 hours. When anyone in the chat turns history on or off: A note appears in the message stream that says history was turned on or off.